Rugby Championship Lineups – Round 6

Rugby Championship Lineups – Round 6


Springboks – 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (c), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Handré Pollard, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Duane Vermeulen/Schalk Burger, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Marcel van der Merwe, 19 Bakkies Botha, 20 Schalk Burger/Warren Whiteley, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 JP Pietersen.

All Blacks – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Malakai Fekitoa, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Sam Whitelock, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Joe Moody.
Subs: 16 Dane Coles, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Charlie Faumuina, 19 Steven Luatua, 20 Liam Messam, 21 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 22 Colin Slade, 23 Ryan Crotty.


Argentina – 15 Joacquin Tuculet, 14 Juan Imhoff, 13 Horacio Agulla, 12 Juan Martín Hernández, 11 Lucas González Amorosino, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Martín Landajo, 8 Leonardo Senatore, 7 Benjamín Macome, 6 Rodrigo Baez, 5 Tomás Lavanini, 4 Mariano Galarza, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy (c), 1 Marcos Ayerza.
Subs: 16 Matías Cortese, 17 Bruno Postiglioni, 18 Ramiro Herrera, 19 Matías Alemanno, 20 Javier Ortega Desio, 21 Tomás Cubelli, 22 Marcelo Bosch, 23 Jerónimo De la Fuente.

Wallabies – 15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Scott Higginbotham, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 James Slipper.
Subs: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Will Skelton, 20 Jake Schatz, 21 Matt Hodgson, 22 Nic White, 23 Rob Horne.


2014 Rugby Championship fixtures released

2014 Rugby Championship fixtures:

16 August
Australia vs New Zealand (Stadium Australia, Sydney)
South Africa vs Argentina (Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria)

23 August
New Zealand vs Australia (Eden Park, Auckland)
Argentina vs South Africa (TBC, Argentina)

6 September    
Australia vs South Africa (Patersons Stadium, Perth)
New Zealand vs Argentina (McLean Park, Napier)

13 September   
Australia vs Argentina (Skilled Park, Gold Coast)
New Zealand vs South Africa (Westpac Stadium, Wellington)

27 September   
South Africa vs Australia (Newlands, Cape Town)
Argentina vs New Zealand  (TBC, Argentina)

4 October 
South Africa vs New Zealand (Ellis Park, Johannesburg)
Argentina vs Australia (TBC, Argentina)

Springboks vs All Blacks: Score

Full time score: SA 16 – 32 NZ

The Springboks were thoroughly beaten by a class New Zealand outfit in Soweto today.

The All Blacks out played the Boks and scored four tries in the process which just shows the gulf between the first and second placed teams in the world.

Brian Habana continued to show the great form that has made 50% of our voters back him for this years competitions MVP by scoring his 5th try of the tournament.

Bok coach Heyneke Meyer will have a lot of thinking to do ahead of the end of year tour of Europe as going through the entire second half without scoring and missing 4 penalties is just not good enough at this level.


SA: 16
Tries: B. Habana
Conv: Goosen
Pen: Goosen, Jantjies x2

NZ: 32
Tries: S.Whitelock, A.Smith, M. Nonu, C. Smith
Conv: Carter x4
Drop Goal: Carter
Cards: I. Dagg (yellow)

Preview: Springboks vs All Blacks – The Soweto Showdown!

We are just hours away from one of the most talked about matches of the year so far.

When the top two teams in the world met in Dunedin last month, the visitors were unlucky to lose after their forwards dominated much of the game. However the wayward boot of former Springbok fly half Morne Steyn meant that the Springboks were denied a coveted away victory in the Rugby Championship, the final result being 21 -11.

Today however a completely different story is, the Boks are coming off a big victory over the Wallabies and will be backed by 90+ thousand supporters in Soccer City, Soweto. While they have lost the All Blacks in the only other test to be played at this venue in 2010 (29-22) they now have a hungry young team (including 6 players under the age of 21), a new coach, a wunderkind fly half in Johan Goosen and the best wing in the world firing on all cylinders – yes Brian Habana is back!

There is no doubt that this will be a close affair, the Boks forwards will look to boss the match in the same way they did in Dunedin and Heyneke Meyer will probably look to test the Kiwi back line with high bombs at altitude which may slow the game down to the benefit of the South Africans.

The World Champions have won 5 of their last 6 matches against the Springboks since 2010.


KO 17:00 CAT (16:00 GMT)

PREDICTION: Springbok win by 3 points.

The teams:

South Africa: 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jaco Taute, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 François Hougaard, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 François Louw, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Tiaan Liebenberg, 17 Coenie Oosthuizen, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Marcell Coetzee, 20 Elton Jantjies, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Pat Lambie.

New Zealand: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Hosea Gear, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (captain), 6 Liam Messam, 5 Samuel Whitelock , 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Keven Mealamu, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Luke Romano, 19 Adam Thomson, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Tamati Ellison.