Kruger earns Baabaa’s call up (squad)

Juandre Kruger has been added to the Barbarians squad to face England on June 1, a week before he is set to face his home-nation as RW Stamppart of the World XV. 

The Barbarians game can be viewed as a warm-up match for a number of players who feature in both Dean Ryan’s Baa-Baas and Nick Mallett’s World XV
Juandre Kruger, Hosea Gear, James O’Connor, Francois Trinh-Duc, Rene Ranger, Schalk Ferreira, Mamuka Gorgodze, Sona Taumalolo, Jimmy Cowan, Andrew Hore, Alexandre Lapandry, Roger Wilson, Joe Tekori will all feature in both invitational teams.
Head coach Dean Ryan has at his disposal an experienced group totalling more than 700 international caps.
A dozen players have been added to the initial Barbarians group including Ireland lock Donncha O’Callaghan, France fly half Francois Trinh-Duc, South Africa second row Juandre Kruger and Argentina full back Juan Martin Hernandez.
Nine different nations are represented – six New Zealanders joined by players from Argentina, Australia, France, South Africa, Georgia, Ireland, Samoa and Tonga – and 19 players are set to wear the club’s famous black and white hooped shirt for the first time.
“It is a testimony to the special appeal the Barbarians has throughout the rugby world that we have been able to bring together such an experienced and talented squad of players,” head coach Ryan said.
“It’s a privilege to be able to work with a group who have achieved so much and we’re looking forward to taking on a young England side at Twickenham next Sunday.
There is one change to the group of players previously announced with Castres-bound All Black Sitiveni Sivivatu now unavailable.
Barbarians squad:
Backs: Jimmy Cowan, Tomas Cubelli, Hosea Gear, Juan Martin Hernandez, Brock James, James O’Connor, Rene Ranger, Joe Rokocoko, Benson Stanley, Francois Trinh-Duc.
Forwards: Julien Brugnaut, Schalk Ferreira, Mamuka Gorgodze, Andrew Hore, Juandre Kruger, Alexandre Lapandry, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Nahuel Lobo, Donncha O’Callaghan, Ti‘i Paulo, Sona Taumalolo, Joe Tekori, Roger Wilson, Davit Zirakashvili.

Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s