Bulls bring Mastriet in for Ndungane (team sheet)

The Bulls have made 2 changes for their upcoming clash against the Table-topping Sharks this weekend. Sampie Mastriet comes in on the wing for Akona Ndungane, who is away on compassionate leave after his father passed away; and Dewald Potgieter returns (after having been dumped by the Bulls) to slot right back into the 8th man position. Potgieter replaces the industrious and in-form Jono Ross, who captained the Tukkies in last years Varsity Cup.

Sampie is the obvious one to replace Akona, and we’ve given Akona the week off as his dad passed away,” coach Frans Ludeke said.

“Dewald comes in at 8 and we will use Jono (Ross) in a different capacity off the bench. We’ll use him as an impact player, because he covers all three positions for us. We know the quality of Dewald as a player. He’s been playing in Japan so he is in form, and he fitted in well this week.

“He brings experience, and he is used to playing Super Rugby. Jono is a quality player, so it is good to replace him with Dewald.”

After having lost to eh Sharks in the first round, the Bulls won’t be as easy to knock over, as the young team has grown in stature every week.

“It is a very different scenario to the one when we lost in Durban. At that time there were a lot of players who had just returned from injury. We had lost the game against the Stormers in the pre-season.

“We now go into this game with everybody comfortable in their roles and we’ve had two good wins so everyone is excited about this game. I’m looking forward to it,” Ludeke said.

Bulls Team (Super Rugby Caps): Jurgen Visser (15), Sampie Mastriet (1), JJ Engelbrecht (37), Jan Serfontein (16), Bjorn Basson (59), Jacques-Louis Potgieter (44), Francois Hougaard (60), Dewald Potgieter (66), Jacques du Plessis (5), Deon Stegmann (76), Victor Matfield (128), Flip van der Merwe (67, c), Werner Kruger (96), Callie Visagie (27), Dean Greyling (42). Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi (5), Morné Mellett (13), Marcel van der Merwe (7), Paul Willemse (8), Jono Ross (8), Piet van Zyl (35), Handré Pollard (3), Ulrich Beyers (4).


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s