Jean to win his 100th Stormers cap against the Chiefs (team sheet)

Stormers captain Jean de Villiers will make his 100th Super Rugby appearance   after being named in the team to play the TeamsheetsChiefs in Hamilton on Friday.

De Villiers will become just the second  Stormers Super Rugby centurion,   following in the footsteps of lock Andries Bekker who reached that landmark   in last year’s tournament.

The 33-year-old star made his debut against the Sharks on February 25, 2005   in the left-wing position and he will line up in his customary centre position   this week in what is a deserved 100th Super Rugby game for one of WP Rugby’s   most loyal sons.

“Jean epitomises what it means to be a Stormer,” said Stormers coach   Allister Coetzee on the Stormers site.

“He is a true warrior and a real WP Rugby man and we’re hoping to make   this 100th game special for him, which he deserves.”

Meanwhile, Coetzee has made three enforced changes to the  Stormers’ starting   line-up for Friday’s clash against the double defending champions on their home   patch.

Ruan Botha will start at lock (in place of the injured Michael Rhodes) and   his earn his first Super Rugby cap in the process, whilst the experienced duo   of Tiaan Liebenberg (hooker) and Brok Harris (tighthead prop) come into the   front row as replacements for Scarra Ntubeni and Frans Malherbe, respectively.

Malherbe, despite suffering a toe injury last week, drops down to the bench,   whilst loose forward Siya Kolisi is back in the 23 after resting his troublesome   AC Joint last weekend and  Cup hooker Stephan Coetzee comes into a Super   Rugby matchday squad for the first time.

Should Malherbe not come through a final fitness test this week, Boland Cavaliers   prop Martin Dreyer – who will be flying to New Zealand from Cape Town with hooker   Coetzee on Tuesday – will come into the matchday 23.


15. Jaco Taute ,  14. Kobus van Wyk ,  13. Jean de Villiers (captain) ,  12. Damian de Allende ,  11. Gio Aplon ,  10. Demetri Catrakilis ,  9. Nic Groom ,  8. Duane Vermeulen ,  7. Schalk Burger (vice-captain) ,  6. Deon Fourie ,  5. De Kock Steenkamp ,  4. Ruan Botha ,  3. Brok Harris ,  2. Tiaan Liebenberg ,  1. Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: ,  16. Stephan Coetzee ,  17. Oliver Kebble ,  18. Frans Malherbe ,  19. Siya Kolisi ,  20. Nizaam Carr ,  21. Louis Schreuder ,  22. Peter Grant ,  23. Sailosi Tagicakibau ,


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s