Bleyendaal pivotal for Crusaders vs Chiefs: Team sheet

The Crusaders head coach Todd Blackadder has named four players to make their debuts in the team to play the Chiefs in Teamsheetstheir season opening Super Rugby match at Christchurch’s AMI Stadium on Friday.

Blackadder’s team has three debutants in the starting line up and a a fourth in the replacements.

Tim Perry, who played his first Super Rugby game last year for the Blues, will make his first start for the Crusaders in the number one jersey.

Midfield back Rey Lee-Lo is another player who made his Super Rugby debut last year (for the Hurricanes) but will run out for the Crusaders for the first time on Friday.

New Zealand Sevens player, Nafi Tuitavake, was named in the Crusaders’ wider training group for this year but has impressed enough during the pre-season to make his Super Rugby debut on the wing on Friday night. He’ll be supported by fellow back and wider training group member Rob Thompson in the reserves.

Blackadder says these players have been rewarded for their efforts during the pre-season and he is confident they are up to the task.

“We made it clear to players from the outset that our pre-season games would be viewed as trial matches. We thought it was important to start with a clean slate, put all players on an even footing and ask them to prove themselves before the season started. These players did that,” Blackadder said.

Perry will be joined in the front row by seasoned Crusaders Corey Flynn and Owen Franks.  All Black locks Sam Whitelock and Dominic Bird make up the locking combination, with fellow All Black Luke Romano as cover. 

Richie McCaw will captain the team and play at seven, with brothers George and Luke Whitelock making up the loose forward trio.

In the backs, Andy Ellis starts at halfback and Tyler Bleyendaal gets the nod at first five. Ryan Crotty will join Lee-Lo in the midfield and will also be vice-captain. Johnny McNicholl on the wing and Israel Dagg at fullback complete the backline.


1 Tim Perry ,2 Corey Flynn ,3 Owen Franks ,4 Samuel Whitelock,5 Dominic Bird,6 George Whitelock ,7 Richie McCaw (c) ,8 Luke Whitelock,9 Andy Ellis ,10 Tyler Bleyendaal ,11 Nafi Tuitavake ,12 Ryan Crotty (vc) ,13 Reynold Lee-Lo ,14 Johnny McNicholl ,15 Israel Dagg

Replacements : 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Wyatt Crockett , 18 Nepo Laulala , 19 Luke Romano ,20 Matt Todd ,21 Willi Heinz , 22 Tom Taylor,23 Rob Thompson


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s