Rebels snap up junior Wallaby

The Melbourne Rebels have bolstered their Super Rugby squad by signing Manly Marlins’ Colts centre Lalakai Foketi on a RW Stampfull time contract.

Last season Foketi starred for the Manly Marlins Colts team as well as being a part of the Wallabies in the IRB Junior World Cup.

“Lalakai has been a great addition to our club and playing group here in Melbourne, He has, through his attitude and ability to seek improvement, gained the respect of his teammates. I look forward to watching him grow as a full-time member of the squad, and I’m sure he will be ready for any opportunities that do come his way.” Rebels’ coach Tony McGahan said.

Foketi himself is extremely excited for the move to Melbourne and to make the step up to professional rugby.

“I am super excited, and there is nowhere else I would rather be, Coming down here I was a bit nervous, but the boys have involved me in everything and it is kind of like a family here – it’s awesome. Eventually, getting into the main squad and maybe even pushing for the bench in a couple of games would be great. I really want to feature in the National Rugby Championships if possible, and hopefully I can secure a full contract if I work hard over the course of the season.” He said.

“Ben Meehan has taken me under his wing and I’ll be living with him which is great, as we played together at the Junior World Cup. I also know guys like Jordy, Cadeyrn and Pat from Manly, and they’ve been really helpful also.” Foketi Added.

MM

 

Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

