8 Changes for desperate Wallabies (team sheet)

The Wallabies have had to make eight changes ahead of their must win match with Scotland Teamsheetsthis weekend in Edinburgh.

There are four changes to the starting team and four to the bench to make up for injury and suspension.

Starting team additions:

–          Mike Harris and Christian Leali’ifano link up in the centres.

–          Joe Tomane and Chris Feauai-Sautia come in as a new wing pairing.

Bench additions:

–          Prop Ben Alexander, back row forward Ben McCalman in the forwards.

–          backs Nick Phipps and Bernard Foley also join the match day squad.

“We’ve made some difficult selection decisions this week and now I’ll be looking to see how those individuals with an opportunity respond to the challenge, All year-end tour I’ve been impressed by the competition we’ve been able to create in a number of positions. Now, some of those guys get a chance to impress in new roles this week.” Said coach Ewen McKenzie.

“Christian hasn’t had a great deal of experience at outside centre but he is a class player and we’re confident he can adjust to the position. We’ll be asking him to bring the things he does well to the game and nothing more. At the other end, we have the luxury of naming an unchanged forward pack from last week’s win. I was really impressed by how they stood up against a stout Ireland pack and now it’s their job to replicate and improve on that effort against Scotland.”

“Our main focus right now is to get our own backyard in order and start building momentum by winning consecutive games, We took a step forward last week by scoring our first back-to-back win of the year, but now it’s about getting three in a row. However, Scotland is also a team that has gotten the better of Australia in the recent past and has won the past two games. This is an important match for the group to get right.” He concluded.

Scotland vs Australia, Murrayfield Edinburgh, KO Saturday 18:00 GMT (20:00 CAT, 05.00, Sunday, November 24 AEDT)


Australia: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Joe Tomane, 13 Christian Leali’ifano, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Ben Mowen (captain), 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 James Horwill, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 James Slipper.
Replacements: 16 Saia Fainga’a, 17 Ben Alexander, 18 Paddy Ryan, 19 Sitaleki Timani, 20 Ben McCalman, 21 Nic White, 22 Nick Phipps, 23 Bernard Foley.


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s