BaaBaa’s include 9 Springboks

The Barbarians squad to play Fiji at Twickenham on November 30 have been finalised.

It possesses a strong Springbok and All Black core with a sprinkling of Latin American talent in the form of five Argentine Pumas.

Nine Springboks feature in the squad, six of those among the forwards, with South African skipper Jean de Villiers joined by utility backs Pat Lambie and Willie le Roux.

The six Springbok forwards are props Tendai Mtawarira and Coenie Oosthuizen, hooker Bismarck du Plessis, lock Eben Etzebeth and the loose forward duo of Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen.

Seven All Blacks have also been selected by New Zealand coach Steve Hansen, namely backs Charles Piutau, Frank Halai and Tom Taylor and forwards Keven Mealamu, Dominic Bird, Steven Luatua and Luke Whitelock.

The five Pumas are backs Martin Landajo and Santiago Cordero and forwards Guillermo Roan, Matias Diaz and Manuel Carizza.

Samoan star Gavin Williams’ inclusion means four nations will represent the world famous club, with New Zealand scrumhalf TJ Perenara the only uncapped player from 11 clubs/franchises.

Hansen will be assisted as head coach by Australian Mark Bakewell.

Barbarians squad: Willie le Roux, Santiago Cordero, Charles Piutau, Frank Halai, Jean de Villiers, Gavin Williams, Patrick Lambie, Tom Taylor, TJ Perenara, Martin Landajo, Tenda Mtawarira, Guillermo Roan, Coenie Oosthuizen, Matias Diaz, Keven Mealamu, Bismarck du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Dominic Bird, Manuel Carizza, Steven Luatua, Luke Whitelock, Schalk Burger and Duane Vermeulen.

Courtesy of


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s