Mickey Arthur to coach the Force?

Former South African and Australian cricket coach Mickey Arthur is said to be in talks with Super Rugby’s Western RW StampForce about joining their coaching staff.

The Safa was axed from the Australian Cricket set up two weeks before the start of a disastrous Ashes tour that culminated in a 3-0 victory for England. However  he has expressed his wishes to stay in Perth with his family.

Arther has been reportedly speaking to Force Chief Executive Mark Sinderberry about taking over a development role within the franchise where he will focus on recruiting young talent.

“There are a couple of options out there. I’ve had a couple of discussions. I’ll see how that unfolds over the next few weeks I’m just hoping that one of the discussions I had last week comes to fruition because if it does, it will be quite exciting for me. The one thing my family said to me when all this happened was ‘Just understand, we’re not leaving Perth. We love Perth. We love WA [Western Australia]’. Whatever I do, I want to try to do it from here.” Said Arthur.

The 45 year old does have rugby connections and is said to have played a part in luring Sias Ebersohn to the Perth based franchise. He is also said to have a good relationship with coach Michael Foley.

”I’m very passionate about Rugby Union. I’ve jumped on the Western Force and talk a lot to Michael Foley, and I’m trying to help the Force with a little bit of recruitment from South Africa.” Concluded Arthur.

MM

 

Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

