Naughty Nyakane dropped – Springbok Squad announced

The Springboks announced yesterday that they will be leaving prop Trevor Nyakane behind as they travel to RW StampArgentina for the return leg of this Rugby Championship match up because of “repeated breaches of team protocol”.

The Big prop forward is replaced by Lourens Adriaanse on the trip to South America after an announcement from the Bok team twitter account read: “No great scandal, folks. ‘Breach of protocol’ in Trevor’s case means missing flights, video session and trip to ORT this [Sunday] morning.”

The other change comes in the form of Piet van Zyl who replaces Fourie du Preez who is not permitted to take part in overseas matches. Marcell Coetzee (loose forward) replaces the injured Chilliboy Ralepelle, and Jano Vermaak (scrumhalf) joins up as extra scrumhalf backup.

“We were only able to finalise the touring squad after the Test against Argentina at Soccer City on Saturday, as we had to assess the injury situation, We are allowed to travel with only 26 players and it was difficult to leave out a few of our squad members. The players that stay behind will benefit from game time in the Currie Cup and will certainly be in the selection frame when we select the squad for the squad to Brisbane and Auckland.”
said Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer.

South African touring squad:

Forwards: Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Marcell Coetzee, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Juandré Kruger, Francois Louw, Tendai Mtawarira, Coenie Oosthuizen, Gurthrö Steenkamp, Adriaan Strauss, Flip van der Merwe, Duane Vermeulen.

Backs: Bjorn Basson, Jean de Villiers (captain), JJ Engelbrecht, Bryan Habana, Patrick Lambie, Willie le Roux, Ruan Pienaar, Jan Serfontein, Morné Steyn, Piet van Zyl, Jano Vermaak.


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s