Springboks make minor changes for Scotland match

Heyneke Meyer went back on his own utterance that he would try and build an experienced squad capable of winning the 2015 World Cup, when he refused to rotate his match 22, instead making two changes – both injury enforced.RW Stamp

The conservative nature of Springbok rugby has been one of the leading reasons they have not dominated the world stage in the professional era, despite their wealth of talent.

In a match against a very weak Scotland team, one would expect Meyer to give those who came off the bench and performed admirably last weekend, a chance to get some game time in the green and gold jersey.

It was not to be, as his instinct to win at all costs in the short-term, instead of investing in youth for the future, was too strong.

Springbok team: Willie le Roux, Bryan Habana, JJ Engelbrecht, Jean de Villiers (captain), Bjorn Basson, Morne Steyn, Ruan Pienaar, Pierre Spies, Arno Botha, Marcell Coetzee, Juandre Kruger, Eben Etzebeth, Jannie du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Tendai Mtawarira.

Replacements: Bismarck du Plessis, Trevor Nyakane, Coenie Oosthuizen, Flip van der Merwe, Siya Kolisi, Piet van Zyl, Pat Lambie, Jan Serfontein.



Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s