O’Driscoll to skipper Lions against Force (team sheet)

Irish legend Brian O’Driscoll has been selected to captain the British and Irish Lions on their upcoming trip to RW StampPerth to face the Western Force on Wednesday.

O’Driscoll last captained the Lions in 2005 when he was spear tackled out of contention by the Kiwis and will take over from fellow countryman Paul O’Connell who was in charge of the Lions 59-8 win against the Barbarians on Saturday.

Squad captain Sam Warburton is expected to play his first match against the Reds next weekend.

The line up picked for Wednesday’s clash does not include any players who played in the opening match in an attempt to give everyone on tour a chance to prove their worth.

Wed 5th June:  Western Force vs B&I Lions, Pert, KO 00:00 BST (01:00 CAT)

British and Irish Lions: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (c), 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 George North, 10 Jonny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Jamie Heaslip; 7 Sean O’Brien, 6 Tom Croft, 5 Ian Evans, 4 Alun Wyn-Jones, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Rory Best, 1 Cian Healey.
Replacements: 16 Tom Youngs, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Matt Stevens, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Toby Faletau, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Owen Farrell, 23 Sean Maitland.



Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s