Whiteley to captain Lions against Samoa

The Golden Lions have named Warren Whitely as captain ahead of their clash with Samoa’s test team at Ellis TeamsheetsPark this weekend.

This match forms part of their preparation to take on the bottom placed South African team in a Super Rugby promotion/relegation battle later this year.

While squad captain JC Janse van Rensburg has returned from Super Rugby duty with the Sharks, coach Johan Ackermann has decided to stick with the captain who brought them their fifth Vodacom Cup title earlier this month.

“It is great to have JC [Janse van Rensburg] and Derrick [Minnie] back [from the Sharks], They will make a huge difference on Saturday. Warren [Whiteley] will retain the captaincy – he [Warren] did well [as captain] on (sic) the absence of JC, Warren can also start growing in that role ahead of the Currie Cup [season], as JC will have left for [Bayonne in] France by the time the Currie Cup season starts,” the Lions coach said.

“[Utility back] Andries Coetzee [who suffered a shoulder injury when playing for the Sharks last month] and [wing] Deon Helberg, who fractured a rib in the Vodacom Cup Final, are the only major casualties, Jaco Taute [knee injury while playing for the Stormers] would not have been available to us anyway. Then Hendrik Roodt is out as a result of his suspension [after a dangerous tackle in the Vodacom Cup Final].” He added.




Forwards: Warren Whiteley (captain), Warwick Tecklenburg, Jaco Kriel, Hugo Kloppers, Ruan Dreyer, Robbie Coetzee, Jacques van Rooyen, Francois du Toit, Van Zyl Botha, JJ Breet, Willie Britz, JC Janse van Rensburg, Derrick Minnie.

Backs: Chrysander Botha, Deon van Rensburg, Alwyn Hollenbach, Anthony Volmink, Marnitz Boshoff, Michael Bondesio, Ross Cronjé, Lionel Cronjé, Dylan Des Fountain.


Forwards: Census Johnston (Toulouse), Logovi’i Mulipola (Leicester Tigers), Sakaria Taulafo (London Wasp), James Johnston (Harlequins), Ti’i Paulo (Clermont), Wayne Ole Avei (Bordeaux Beagles), Manu Leiataua (North Harbour), Kane Thompson (Canon Eagles), Iosefa Tekori (Castres), Daniel Leo (Perpignan), Teofilo Paulo (Cardiff Blues), Taiasina Tuifua (Newcastle Falcons), Alafoti Faosiliva (Bristol), Ofisa Treviranus (London Irish), Jack Lam (Hurricanes), Maurie Fa’asavalu (Harlequins), Fa’alemiga Selesele (Moata’a, Samoa).

Backs: Kahn Fotuali’i (Ospreys), Jeremy Su’a (Crusaders), Auvasa Faleali’i (Newcastle, Australia), Tusi Pisi (Hurricanes/Suntory Sungoliath), Ki Anufe (Auckland), George Pisi (Northampton Saints), Johnny Leota (Sale Sharks), Isaia Tuifua (Vigo, Spain), Brandon Va’aulu (Tokyo), Alesana Tuilagi (NTT Shining Arcs), Alapati Leiua (Hurricanes), Robert Lilomaiava (Vaiala, Samoa), Paul Williams (Stade Francais), James So’oialo (Wellington).


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s