Bad boy Beale back for Rebels (team sheet)

The Rebels have included disgraced Wallaby Kurtley Beale in their squad to take on the Chiefs this weekend inTeamsheets Melbourne.

Beale makes his return a month after an altercation with his captain forced him out of the squad and into anger management and rehabilitation. The Wallaby playmaker addressed his teammates before returning to training and coach Damien Hill told the media that the other players had a say in his inclusion.

“Each decision ultimately is made in the best interest of the Club and the team. In this instance, that is what we believe we have done, and that is the most important aspect in this decision for him to return from the bench on Friday night,” said Hill.

“He presented to the playing group in a very candid and honest manner. Knowing these players well, I know how much they want the Club to succeed, and have welcomed him back. The Club and Australian Rugby have shown trust in the off field program Kurtley has been and will continue to go through. So long as that trust is returned, we will continue to support Kurtley.”  Added Hill.

Apart from Beale’s addition at the expense of Angus Roberts, Hill has named an unchanged team to the side that went down to the Crusaders on Sunday in Christchurch.

“The Chiefs will be the first New Zealand team visiting Melbourne this season. To have the challenge of playing the 2012 Super Rugby Champions in front of our members and home supporter base is a challenge we are looking forward to. It was great to see a number of players stand up to the challenge given to them last round, and that has been rewarded with selection this week. There are also a number of players who are vying for starting positions at the Club, which is healthy.”  He concluded.

The Rebels host the Chiefs in Melbourne on Friday, KO KO 19:40 AUS (11:40 CAT, 10:40 BST)



1. Nic Henderson , 2. Ged Robinson , 3. Laurie Weeks , 4. Hugh Pyle , 5. Cadeyrn Neville , 6. Jarrod Saffy , 7. Scott Fuglistaller , 8. Scott Higginbotham (c) , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. James O’Connor , 11. Cooper Vuna , 12. Rory Sidey , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Tom English , 15. Jason Woodward

Replacements : 16. Shota Horie , 17. Paul Alo-Emile , 18. Luke Jones , 19. Gareth Delve , 20. Nic Stirzaker , 21. Kurtley Beale , 22. Lachlan Mitchell


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s