Sharks change four for Cheetahs showdown

Sharks coach John Plumtree has made four changes to his side that lost to the Stormers last week as the Teamsheetswelcome the best Cheetahs team in Super Rugby history to Durban.

–          Jean Deysel starts blindside flank.

–          Ryan Kankowski drops out of the match day squad.

–          Wiehahn Herbst starts at prop.

–          Jannie du Plessis named to come off the bench.

–          Sean Robinson move to the left wing.

–          Odwa Ndungane named on the right wing.

–          Riaan Viljoen starts at fullback.

–          Francois Steyn drops to the bench.

–          Andries Coetzee and Tera Mtembu could make their debut off the bench.

“JP is probably one of our best players and to lose him at this stage is a massive loss, Injuries are really doing their best to try and derail our bid to win the trophy so it’s become difficult and stressful for everyone here, the coaches, players and medical team. We’ve just got to dig in and get on with it and we’ve brought in some players, Piet Lindeque and Andries Coetzee from the Lions. But it hasn’t been easy getting a team together for this weekend and also getting a squad ready to tour.” said Plumtree on the Sharks site.

“Ryan Kankowski is not in good form at the moment. We are still putting a plan in place for him going forward, but I think he’s still feeling the effects of the Japanese season, he still hasn’t come right. He, himself, is battling to work out what’s going wrong, it’s not easy for him or anyone of us. Right now he’s struggling and how he gets back to the required levels will be interesting to see, but it is alarming for me as well because he’s one of our better players. We’ll back Tera Mtembu in the loose trio; he’s had some time in the Currie Cup and a little in Super Rugby. He’s confident about playing at this level. He’ll get more time touring with us. ” Added Plumtree.

The Sharks host the Cheetahs in Durban on Saturday, KO 17:05 CAT (16:05 BST)



15. Riaan Viljoen , 14. Odwa Ndungane , 13. Paul Jordaan , 12. Meyer Bosman , 11. Sean Robinson , 10. Patrick Lambie , 9. Cobus Reinach , 8. Keegan Daniel (C) , 7. Jean Deysel , 6. Marcell Coetzee , 5. Franco van der Merwe , 4. Pieter-Steph du Toit , 3. Wiehahn Herbst , 2. Kyle Cooper , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements , 16. Craig Burden , 17. Jannie du Plessis , 18. Anton Bresler , 19. Tera Mtembu , 20. Charl McLeod , 21. Francois Steyn , 22. Andries Coetzee



Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s