Higginbotham to captain Rebels against the Force

The Rebels have promoted Wallaby flanker Scott Higginbotham to captain for their match with the Western TeamsheetsForce after Gareth Delve is ruled out with injury once again.

The Rebels have also made a number of changes to the team who was smashed by the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein last weekend.

–       Wallaby wing Cooper Vuna returns after team suspension.

–       Lock Cadeyrn Neville and Centre Rory Sidey are given a start.

–       Flanker Scott Fuglistaller replaces Jordy Reid who drops to the bench.

–       Luke Jones shifts to the back row to replace injured captain Gareth Delve.

“The players feel as though they need to record a win for their city on this three match tour, while the Force were desperately unlucky against the NSW Waratahs, and the local support in Perth is very supportive of their Rugby team. We know what derby matches can bring out in this competition. Scott will bring a different level of energy to the team’s on field leadership. He plays with a level of passion that will be infectious to his peers. He leads by example. said coach Damien Hill.

“Unfortunately Lachie Mitchell will miss the match with a cork that has not recovered fully in time, while Gareth has been carrying some mild complaints with his ribs and shoulder. They should both be available next week. Jordy was very good last week, and will be given more opportunities having signed with the Club until 2015. At this stage we believe Fuglistaller’s experience will be required against a very well drilled Force attack.” Added the coach.

“The contest between these two Rugby states stems back to the Australian Rugby Shield, when the biggest battle was always between Western Australia and Victoria, while in sporting codes such as AFL there is a rich history between the two sporting states, The history of this great Rugby rivalry now lives on, with both Clubs demonstrating this in their previous encounters. We have the advantage on the win sheet, but this match means so much for both teams.” Hill concluded.

The Rebels travel to Perth on Saturday to take on the Force, KO 10:40 CAT (09:40 GMT)


Rebels: 1. Nic Henderson , 2. Ged Robinson , 3. Paul Alo-Emile , 4. Hugh Pyle , 5. Cadeyrn Neville , 6. Luke Jones , 7. Scott Fuglistaller , 8. Scott Higginbotham (c) , 9. Nick Phipps , 10. Angus Roberts , 11. Richard Kingi , 12. Rory Sidey , 13. Mitch Inman , 14. Jason Woodward , 15. James O’Connor  Replacements : 16. Shota Horie , 17. Laurie Weeks , 18. Jarrod Saffy , 19. Jordy Reid , 20. Nic Stirzaker , 21. Tom English , 22. Cooper Vuna


Please let Rugby Window know what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s